Week 46 – I put a spell on you!

Right, now that I have your attention, let me tell you about my interesting something new for the week 🙂

A friend of mine, Amina, is a hypnotist by profession – a clinical hypnotist. Last week she was doing a course to refresh some of her knowledge and she needed people to practice on… so, since I’ve never been hypnotised before I thought it would be a great time to try it out. I help her out, she invariably helps me out with my something new for the week 🙂

I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself into when I arrived at her house one evening. We sat and chatted for a bit and she explained hypnotherapy to me a little bit – the kind that people go for when they want to quit smoking, or have insecurity issues, or a childhood trauma that they want to overcome, or fears etc.

She explained that it’s nothing hypnotistlike what you see in the movies – you don’t lie there and fall into this deep sleep and then can’t get out of it again. It’s completely the opposite. You are completely awake the entire time and fully aware of everything around you. You’re just in a hypnotised state. It’s something that we’ve all experienced without even realising it – you know when you ‘zone out’ while driving a route that you’ve driven a hundred times before? Or you catch yourself day dreaming? Or a random memory comes into your head? Those are all you, in a hypnotised state, you just don’t have someone helping you get there.

So, in order for us to start, I had to give her a happy memory of my childhood and we’d ‘visit’ that in hypnosis. I chose dolly washing day – the day that my mom would take all of our dolls and put them in the wash and then hang them on the washing line outside 🙂

To be honest, I had no idea if this would work on me – I’ve never given hypnosis much thought, so it was really interesting for me. I could feel a few thoughts in my subconscious questioning if this was really working (I was really worried that it wouldn’t and I’d make her look bad in front of the course lecturer!), but then all of a sudden this completely random memory came into my head, something that I would never have thought of, or remembered if I was not actually hypnotised. It was great – I could feel myself smiling like an idiot at this memory and I could see myself there… in this memory from years and years and years ago!

I was then brought out of hypnosis, we chatted a little bit more, and then we tried it again – and again, a completely random memory popped into my head. This one wasn’t quite as vivid, but it was really weird (good weird!) to be having these memories come alive again.

Each time I ‘woke up’, it felt as though I had been in this crazy deep sleep and I felt extremely tired, but other than that, completely normal. I had been fully aware of my surroundings the whole time, but was fully enveloped in these memories.

What an interesting experience that was 🙂

Have your say

