Week 42 – Local is Lekker

“Local is Lekker” is a very well-known South African saying, and this past weekend I got to experience some real “Local is Lekker” at the South African Braai Day, held at Emirates Golf Club, and hosted by House of Afrika… took me right back to a summer’s day in SA!

The doors opened at 2pm, but my friends and I only started arriving around 3:30pm (I arrived closer to 4pm)…. a) because I had stuff to do during the day, and b) because I thought it might be a tad too hot to be there in pretty much the heat of the day.

Thankfully arriving at 4pm wasn’t too hot, and my friends had found a fabulous spot in some shade, which definitely worked in our favour. Shoes were quickly removed and remained off the entire day/night, while we got to enjoy walking around barefoot on the grass 🙂

Local South African drinks were very quickly ordered and put into ice buckets next to us and we settled into a day of total chill, listening to some great South African live music. Dan Patlansky and aKing were brought over for the event, and while I’d not heard of either of them, everyone whom I spoke to prior to the event said that they loved aKing, so I knew I was in for a treat!

There was a braai area set up – that’s a barbeque for the non-South Africans 😉 – and you were able to either have brought in your own meat, or could purchase braai packs at the venue, and then make use of the braais to cook your own meat. Alternatively, for those lazy buggers like us, you could also buy ready-made (or, made on the spot while you wait) food – all with a South African touch to them. Sadly, there were no boerewors rolls which was a big disappointment, however the pap and wors that we had was really good!

There were Amarula stands, Savanna stands, jumping castles, a petting zoo, arts and crafts, pony rides, touch rugby, frisbee players, koeksisters (which I never knew about at the time 😦 !, the braai area, live cooking stations, live music, our national anthem, Mango Groove songs played, great atmosphere, grass, friends. What a great day this was!

And all of this sitting around on the grass all day, listening to music, watching kids (and adults!) run around and enjoy the cooler weather really made me think of days back home where we’d gather around someone’s swimming pool, a braai going in the background, the girls gathering in the kitchen (or the pool!), giggling and catching up on chatter.

Local is definitely Lekker!

PS – you can click on any of the photos to open up a larger gallery view. I recently bought a new lens for my camera, and this was the first time using it and I am super happy with the results 🙂

2 thoughts on “Week 42 – Local is Lekker

  1. Pingback: Local: The Eagle has Landed | What's (in) the picture?

Have your say

