Week 41 – A new run, a new chill

I’ve lived in Jumeirah Village Circle for a little over a year now, and while I’ve been told that there’s a tunnel that connects us to Sports City, I’ve never actually done anything about checking it out (if you’re not a Dubai resident, I apologise for this probably not making any sense right now!)

Anyway, on my run the other night I was scheduled to do a run around JVC, which is approximately 9km’s… until on my drive home from work when I decided that it would be fun to find this tunnel and see if I could incorporate Sports City into my run – definitely something new!

So, that’s exactly what I did 🙂

I got home, changed into my gear and headed out the door in the direction I knew I needed to go to find this darn tunnel! And find it I did 🙂 It involves climbing down a bit of a sand bank from the side of the road, and then you run through this tunnel, which is underneath Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road (again, non-Dubai residents, sorry for not understanding the magnitude of what that means 😮 )

The arrow points to SMBZR - a 6-lane highway, in each direction!

The arrow points to SMBZR – a 6-lane highway, in each direction!

The tunnel is fairly long – after all, it is the width of SMBZR – and it’s DARK! At first I had a tiny bit of concern in case there were rats or wild cats or something on the loose, but I just kept going, sticking to the middle of the tunnel all the way… and came out on the other side and bam! I was in Sports City 🙂

I then just ran where the wind blew – while I sort of know my way around, it’s different when you’re on foot, and I had entered through an area that I’d never seen before, so it was all a little weird. But I just kept turning right, thinking that at some point I’ll turn around and head back the same way I came in.

I pretty much stuck to that strategy for the whole run and boy was it a good run! I took it easy, not wanting to exert myself too much before the upcoming race this weekend (only a 10km, so nothing too exciting), but also not wanting to be too slow on my feet.

I was well happy with how I felt when I finished the run and even more happy that now I know of a new place that I can run which means keeping things a bit more interesting and not just running around JVC all the time.

My run :)

My run 🙂

And then I enjoyed a proper chill night on Thursday night – the night before the race (fairly uneventful 10km – finished under an hour, but no post required). I headed off to movies-under-the-stars at West 14th on Palm Jumeirah. Yes, I’ve done movies-under-the-stars before, and even on bean bags, but this was a new venue so why not throw it in here for something new?! 🙂

It’s free entry, and you can buy all sorts of stuff there to keep you happy – popcorn, hot dogs, drinks (alcoholic and non), snack packs etc. And with a view of Dubai Marina’s skyline… well, it’s hard to beat!

The screen with the Marina skyline in the distance...

The screen with the Marina skyline in the distance…

Where the food and drinks magic happens :)

Where the food and drinks magic happens 🙂

Have your say

