Week 39 – Bran muffins

I hate it when I see the week flying by and knowing that I’m running out of time to take part in or do something new for the week… so when I saw this beginning to happen this past week I had to put a stop to it!

So, I got my diary out and looked at my days carefully and threw something in there for what would be my something new for the week 🙂

A while back, I think it was when I made my carrot cake muffins, my mom told me about her super easy bran muffin recipe – which requires absolutely no fancy equipment, nor does it require any prep work other than mixing everything in a bowl. Surely not even I could go wrong with that?!

And for this recipe I even had pretty much all of the ingredients at home already – yay!

So, the night in question rolled around and it just so happens that it was a night that us girls at Villa Kunterbunt were having a movie and dinner night (in which I made the dinner too!) We then invited one more friend to join us and opened a bottle of wine to make a proper night of it 🙂

I got my muffins on the go while we were eating dinner (just simple wraps so nothing to talk about on here), and we then decided to enjoy the muffins as dessert – along with the ice cream that our friend had brought along 🙂

The muffins really are stupidly easy to make – you literally put each ingredient into a mixing bowl, one at a time, mixing it up in-between each add-in, then spoon the batter out into a muffin tray (I lined mine with muffin cups), put in the oven for about 15 – 20 minutes @ 180°C, and Viola! Bran muffins are done!

Ingredients (put into the mixing bowl in the below order)

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup oil (vegetable / canola)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 2 cups crushed All Bran Flakes
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons Bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 250g dried fruit (cake) mix
  • 1/2 cup coconut
  • 1 grated apple (I decided to forego the apple)

I did them in 2 batches because the above measurements will give you about 24 muffins and I can only fit 12 in my oven at a time… which worked out great because we were ready for dessert just as the second batch was ready so we got to eat them hot and delicious, straight from the oven!

The finished product :)

The finished product 🙂

Our dessert, yum!

Our dessert, yum!

Have your say

