My first seven jobs

I came across this blog post from one of my fellow bloggers that I follow and it prompted me to write this post… I thought it might be a bit of fun to do some random posting for today because I have finally caught up with all my delayed posts after my wonderful holidays that I’ve had recently… holidays that I’ve been able to enjoy because I’ve worked hard to get to where I am today.

So, if I look back to when I had my very first job in which I earned money, even though I was only about 13 years old, it is quite scary to think of how many jobs I have been through over the years – way too many to go putting that out in public 😉

But, it is an interesting journey through all these years to see where I started and how I’ve ended up where I am today – living in Dubai and loving (almost) every minute of it… so here are my first seven jobs (or as I’ve detailed them, my seven different roles in my working career):

  1. A packer at the local supermarket – packing the bags at the tills. I wanted to be promoted to cashier but we left the town before that could happen
  2. Waitress at a coffee shop – I was still in school for this one and the shop was a 5-minute walk from my house so weekend mornings were spent serving coffee (possibly the reason I don’t drink coffee today 😉 )
  3. Customer sales at a sports store – sales assistant on the floor, to answering the customer care line to simply standing by the change rooms handing out tags for customers trying on clothes
  4. Waitress in various pubs / restaurants – I did this when I was studying and working in the pub was probably one of my favourite times… I worked with great people, made some decent money and just had a great time in general
  5. Travel agent – this is what I studied in college and I did this for 8 years, moving between a few different companies over the years (one of them I stayed with for 5 years!), but it was in this job / field that I got offered a job to move over to Dubai…
  6. Personal Assistant – this is what brought me to Dubai! One of my clients at the travel agency was moving over to Dubai and he offered me the position of being his PA… it was not a difficult decision to make 🙂
  7. Office Manager – I’ve been in Dubai for 8.5 years now and have evolved from Personal Assistant to Office Manager, over a few different companies that I’ve worked for. I’ve been at my current job for a little over 2 years now and still loving it, with the potential for lots of very interesting things to come my way…

2 thoughts on “My first seven jobs

  1. I’ve always wanted to be a waitress in a pub but never got there. To this day I still wonder if I would be able to remember everyone’s orders without writing them down. It’s amazing how some waitrons can do it so easily.

    Like

    • It takes time to get used to learning ways to process orders without writing them down… and then getting them entered correctly! I am very grateful for my time as a waitress as it taught me so much about respecting people in those careers 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Have your say

