Week 8 – A musical affair

This week’s something new was a whole bunch of somethings new all thrown in together on one night – I attended the Dubai International Jazzfest for the first time, and I got to watch 3 bands perform that I have never seen live before: Post Modern Jukebox, James and Toto 🙂 (Unfortunately I didn’t think to take my DSLR with me, so please forgive the poor quality photos taken on my little point ‘n click 😉 )

Probably about a year or so ago, JP discovered Post Modern Jukebox and introduced them to me, and we both loved them immediately. They take well-known songs and give them a jazzy, 1920’s feel. Our favourite is possibly “Blurred Lines” but so many of their songs are simply amazing!

Post Modern Jukebox

Post Modern Jukebox

On the night they performed songs such as Bad Romance – Lady Gaga; Sweet Child of Mine – Guns ‘n Roses; All about that Bass – Meghan Trainor; Sorry – Justin Bieber; and My heart will go on – Celine Dion.

Our next performer was James. As far as I was concerned, I had never heard of James before, but my friend Al gave me two examples of songs that I would know (which I did), so I was then even more surprised when he came on stage and I ended up knowing more than half of his playlist!

James

James

He was an…. interesting performer. Not quite sure what genre to put his music into, but he was hugely popular with the crowd, especially when he joined them in the fan pit in front… and then climbed over the barrier to join the rest of us plebs at the back!

In the crowd

In the crowd

The night was eventually finished off with Toto – another band that I was surprised at how many of their songs I actually know! Unfortunately we didn’t stay for the full set because it was a week night, and they only came on stage at 10:45pm, so we up and left at about 11:30pm… we had full intentions of staying for “Africa” but it was going to be much too late of a night then. Hopefully there’ll be another time that I get to see them perform it 😦

Toto

Toto

Loving Gandolph :)

Loving Gandolph 🙂

The crowd!

The crowd!

Have your say

