The sight of a site

My profession allows me the adaptability to work in many different industries – I’ve been in IT, yachting, oil & gas, and now construction which is great as it gives me a chance to learn little bits about a lot of things. I’ve got many ‘buzz words’ stored in this brain of mine from the different jobs I’ve worked in, and while I won’t be able to hold a conversation with any technical people in any of these industries, it does allow me the opportunity to at least broach subjects and get a foot in the door.

Obviously with the Middle East, and quite largely Dubai, being way ahead of most places as far as construction is concerned, it’s a really interesting time be working in the construction industry. And so when my company was organising site visits to one of our projects I jumped at the opportunity to go see what it’s like behind the scenes of when buildings are being built… and add a few more ‘buzz words’ to that little dictionary of mine 😉

The day before the visit we were all issued with hard hats, high-vis safety vests and steel-capped worker boots (to avoid your toes being sliced off if anything were to fall and land on your toes!) The morning of, we all set off to the site where we were given a brief introduction on the project and off we went, me and 5 other technical guys (so they learned a LOT from this visit).

This particular project is one of the biggest taking place in Dubai right now, worth about AED7 billion for the entire project put together (it’s split into 4 main parts), and will take approximately another 2 years to complete.

We spent about an hour and a half walking the site, stopping at various places to be given a bit of background on each stage of the project, and we walked approximately 5km’s that morning.

Because I have a serious lack of technical knowledge, I’ll now leave the words behind and rather just share some of the photos that I took on the day – an insider’s view to what goes on behind those fancy pants building exteriors that we’re all so used to seeing 🙂 You can click on any of the images to open up a larger view.

** Disclaimer – I was given permission to take these photos, however, as per the non-disclosure agreement, I am not allowed to mention what project they are from. 

Have your say

