Week 3 – Spring cleaning

Ok, this is a tiny lie because obviously I’ve done spring cleaning before, but this post is about me saying goodbye to perfectly good clothes, which is something that I don’t think I’ve ever done before.

It’s true. I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to my clothes – I will wear things until they fall apart, especially if it’s something I love (which is just about everything in my closet 😉 ) Other than throwing broken / ruined clothes away, the only other reason I’ve ever had a ‘spring clean’ of my cupboards is when there’s been drastic weight change and I’ve had to throw out those huge pants that no longer fit.

So this past weekend I decided it was time to do a proper clean out of clothes, shoes and handbags. Yikes! It was a 2-part effort that brought me to this decision:

  1. I bought soooo many new work out clothes while on holiday that I knew it was time to retire some of the clothes I have but know that I never wear
  2. A colleague asked us all to get involved in a charity drive to donate clothes to the female labourers around Dubai.

So I got stuck in 🙂

It was quite difficult for me to part with some clothes because they’re things that I love, but just don’t wear often (I know that doesn’t really make sense, but trust me, it’s true!)

I didn’t use any formula of ‘if I haven’t worn it in 6 months then it’s out’; I based my decisions purely on if I thought I’d ever really wear the item again, or do I absolutely need that third blue dress?

So, perfectly good clothes, shoes and handbags started finding themselves in (a) black bag. Yes, a single black bag. That’s all that I was able to bring myself to part with.

But it’s a black bag full of clothes, shoes and handbags that the charity will be very grateful for.

(Wow do I sound like a Dubai snob as a type this out 😦 )

 

One thought on “Week 3 – Spring cleaning

Have your say

