# 50 – Qatar

6 months ago I was asked to travel to Doha, Qatar for work because the company I work for has an office there.

Visa applications went in but got rejected for some reasons that I’m still unable to understand…. it was an awful feeling – I’ve been to 35 countries and NEVER had an issue with getting a visa (as a South African passport holder it is a pain in the backside, but we require visas prior to arrival for pretty much any country we visit 😡 )

Anyway, we were eventually told to apply again once the visa was out the system. This was meant to take 3 months. It took 5! But once it was out the system, applications were sent in again, and this time everything was accepted and tickets were finally booked for me to visit the Doha office!

It was only a short trip – fly in on Monday morning, fly back to Dubai on Tuesday evening. This meant that I didn’t have much time to do anything other than work during the day, and was taken for dinner by my colleague in the evening, but it was still an enjoyable bit of time away from Dubai, and I finally get to add Qatar to my list of countries visited (I’ve transited through Doha many times, but have never counted it).

Here are a few pictures I managed to snap in my short time outside of the office 🙂

Christmas at The W Hotel

Christmas at the Radisson Blu Hotel

Shoe shining at the Radisson Blu

Shoe shining at the Radisson Blu

Nougat covered in rose petals - smelled like roses! Was quite weird to eat...

Nougat covered in rose petals – smelled like roses! Was quite weird to eat…

Strange, yet almost ‘friendly’ statues all over Doha Airport

Have your say

