# 42 – Zebra Cake

For all you cake-lovers out there – I strongly recommend you keep reading this post 🙂

A few months ago I came across a video on how to make a zebra cake , and so, because zebras are my favourite animals, I decided that making this cake had to go on the bucket list! But keep in mind here that at that point I’d never made a cake before 😳

Fast forward a few months and RB comes to me one day and says that she’ll help me with some of my bucket list items… and the zebra cake came up this past week. So, one evening I went to hers after work and we set about making this cake. Correction – I set about making this cake 🙂

You can watch the video here to get the directions, but I’ve listed the ingredients below because we made the silly error of not writing down the list and so had to keep going back and forth to see how much to put in of each ingredient. The step-by-step instructions in the video are super easy to follow!

Ingredients:

  • 2 and a half cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 and a quarter teaspoons baking powder
  • Half teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • three quarters cup vegetable oil
  • white, pink & black food colouring
  • white butter cream (for decorating)
  • black fondant (for decorating)
  • pink butter cream (for decorating; we added pink colouring to our white butter cream)

We took a whack of photos of my super fun experience learning to bake… I’ve put a slideshow of some of them below. The cake turned out super yummy, albeit a tad on the dry side – possibly because we added in additional flour thinking that the dough looked a bit too runny… next time I’ll definitely leave it as is! But the cake was flattened by myself and friends, all with very good reviews of how delicious it was, and extreme surprise from everyone that this was MY.FIRST.CAKE.EVER! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Have your say

