# 37 – Chocolate mousse

Chocolate mousse and healthy – not a combination that is used very often.

Until now!

Faya over at FitnessOnToast posted this recipe for avocado chocolate mousse  a while back and I’ve been wanting to try it out for ages… and I finally did!

I unfortunately couldn’t follow the recipe 100% because I couldn’t find manukah honey, and I wasn’t going to buy a whole package of Himalayan salt for only a pinch of it in the recipe. So, I substituted those items for plain old honey and plain old table salt. Sorry Faya 😉

I also only used 1.5 avo’s whereas her recipe calls for 2 – and next time I make it I think I’ll add more chocolate because it had slightly too much of an avo taste. But boy was it tasty!!! JPEG and roomie got to be my guinea pigs and they said it was fab (unless they were lying just to make me feel better 😉 )

This is definitely going to be repeated!

Ingredients

  • 2 x large, ripe avo’s
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 small bars Lindt 70% dark chocolate
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used vanilla essence)
  • Berries / crushed nuts etc. for garnishing

Directions

  • Melt the chocolate over a pot of hot water
  • Add the avo, honey, salt, milk, melted chocolate and vanilla essence into a blender
  • Blend for approx. 2-3 minutes, or until you obtain a mousse-like consistency
  • Scrape out of the blender and spoon into serving bowls / dishes
  • Put in the fridge for a few hours to cool and set a bit
  • Garnish, and enjoy!

Roomie was around when I was making it, and with her being a photographer, she picked up my camera and took a few action shots while I was making it.

 

One thought on “# 37 – Chocolate mousse

Have your say

