# 21 – Come dine with me

OK – there’s something funny in the air… these last 2 weeks have been amazing for my something new challenge, and I love it! And, they both involve FOOD!

Last week we had the delicious sushi tasting at Sushi Counter, and this week… well, I cooked! For 6 people! In a come-dine-with-me effort type of thing! And I think it went ok (well, the girls all said it tasted good πŸ™‚ )

The Table :)

The Table πŸ™‚

It was a tough day to start off with, after finding out about my missing friend, but thankfully work were happy for me to go home a bit early and I got stuck right into sorting myself out for dinner.

I went through the boxes in our storage to get out the matching plates & bowls, I set the table, I got the music ready, RB came over to keep me company, we then both got dressed and I finally opened up a beer and started to relax a little bit. Yes, I was nervous!

Because it was the first of this little groups come-dine-with-me thingie, there was a little bit of getting to know one another right at the start of the night. I had the starters ready so we sat chit-chatting while nibbling on our starters, doing the obligatory ‘where are you from, how long have you been here, etc.’ kind of questions.

Then I excused myself to go and make my mains. I chose something relatively plain and simple because this cooking thing is relatively easy for one person when I get home, throw things on and do my thing. But when trying to entertain and feed 6 people and hopefully impress them at the same time… well, there’s no way I’m going for fancy!

15 or so minutes later and the mains were out and we all gobbled them up. Yum! We then sat around for a while talking again, letting the food settle, enjoying the wine, and then I went and made the dessert. Again, something super easy to simply just dish up, and we sat around for a while afterwards enjoying some girlie banter πŸ™‚

We will be doing this monthly now – I wonder what the next theme will be?! πŸ™‚

On the menu, 21 May, Healthy theme:

Starters – mushrooms stuffed with bacon or sundried tomato, with blue cheese and a hint of garlic

Mains – mint lamb chops with sweet potato mash, served with peas & corn, and a bit of gravy on the side

Dessert – berries & pineapple served on a bed of yoghurt

And here’s the photographic evidence:

The attendees of the night were: fruit salad, blueberry, orange, watermelon, strawberry and grapes. Can you guess who is who in the photos below?? πŸ˜‰

 

 

Have your say

