Cartoon Cup Football Tournament

Now this is a different way for me to spend a Thursday night – helping a friend out, and then supporting, a football tournament 🙂

Last week Thursday my friend JP was running a hatdraw football tournament. In this tournament, each person enters as an individual and then gets assigned to a random team. This mixes things up so that people get to play on different teams, potentially meet new players, and it allows players who are not on a team, or new to the sport wanting to join a team, to have a chance to play.

The draw is done completely at random except for the rule that says there must be 5 girls (including 1 sub) and 4 guys (including 1 sub).

Each hatdraw that has been done has been themed; so far there has been Superheroes, Loony Toons, World Cup, Doodle Mania, and the theme for this one was ‘Cartoon Cup’ so all the teams were cartoon characters:

  • Spongebob Square Pants (yellow)
  • Minions (green)
  • Homer Simpson (red)
  • Scooby Doo (black)
  • Angry Birds (blue)
  • Popeye (white)

We arrived at the pitch and got set up – t-shirts laid out in teams, medals and trophies placed on the table, and some music to keep us entertained.

On arrival, people register, pay their fees, get handed a t-shirt and head off to meet their fellow team mates… and then the games get underway. It’s a 20-min game, playing only one side, and then 5 minute breaks in-between each game.

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to snap any good photos of the action, but here’s a few photos of the teams and the awards afterwards 🙂

 

If you’re interested in taking part, please reply in the comments below and I can get you in touch with JP and the other organisers 🙂

During the tournament, I got some sneaky exercise in too – I had planned on doing an 8 km run, but since we were at a school and I saw the staircase right by the pitch, I decided I would so some stairs training instead… something I haven’t done in an awfully long time! I did 3 x 10 minute sessions, running up and down the stairs in a variety of ways – one step at a time, 2 at a time, sideways, running up the big stairs, running up the little stairs, running on my toes only etc. What a great workout!

The next day I headed out for a short 2.5 km run – I was a bit concerned that maybe my legs would be stiff from the stairs, but I nailed the run! I think I’ll be doing stairs more often at this rate 😉

     

One thought on “Cartoon Cup Football Tournament

Have your say

