# 11 – Jumeirah Open Beach running track

I’ve finally made it down to the (new-ish) track that has been built along Jumeirah Open Beach. And what a lovely track it is!

It was quite random that I happened upon the track… I was out a few days ago on a run, and halfway into the run I completely lost interest (this is something that I’m quite used to at the moment, but am tryingΒ really hardΒ to get rid of) and so I turned around and walked home. And on the way home, I could obviously spend more time looking at my surroundings and one of the things I noticed was this couple running along part of the walkway that had a weird green tint to it.

“That’s a strange colour for paving” I thought to myself. So I made a slight detour to see what it was and as I got closer I started thinking that it must be track, but, green?! I had never seen a green running track before!

Well, I was pleasantly surprised when I reached the track – it really was running track – the track that people have been speaking about for ages!!

So I planned a run that would incorporate this track so that I could include it in my “something new” for this week πŸ™‚

It was a fabulous run – it was to be my last big-ish run before the half marathon on Friday so I wanted to practice keeping a slow pace; one that I am hoping I’ll survive for the race. And I’d say I did a pretty good job of it πŸ™‚ I was aiming for a 6:30 pace, so it might actually be a bit fast, especially considering the bad luck I’ve had for the last 2 months with my running… but it felt great knowing that I was able to keep at the pace I wanted to for the whole run!

IMG_2848Β  Β  Β IMG_2850

IMG_2842

To say I’m nervous for Friday’s race would be an understatement… I’m pooping myself! But I am going to go out there and do it. I know I can! Just keep slow and steady.

I wonder what next week will bring??? πŸ™‚ Watch this space to find out!!!

3 thoughts on “# 11 – Jumeirah Open Beach running track

  1. Agree, agree πŸ™‚

    I think they’re worried that we’ll run over little kids ay, haha. There was a lot of discussion on 7days comments about them not having the cycling track as it was initially promoted as having one. Ah well, I’m happy enough that they made one next to the tramway anyways!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. haha! you found the track! πŸ™‚ it’s nice ay

    we also found it accidentally when we went cycling from home to burj al arab. did u see any cyclists there? mind u we’re not supposed to be in that area, hehehehehe. don’t worry i won’t ruin your track πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

    Like

    • I saw a kid on a bicycle – he stayed on the wooden bit while cycling and personally I don’t see any issue with that… I think that they should allow cycling on the wooden bits. They could put up a tiny barrier between the 2 in order to stop ignorant riders from crossing onto the running track and viola – happy runners and happy riders πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Have your say

