Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

This was something completely new to me. I’ve never heard of Rule of Thirds before, nor have I ever taken a photo (knowingly) where the focus “puts the subject of the photograph off-centre”, so I had some fun this evening taking a few photos to participate in this weeks challenge on Rule of Thirds. I took all photos with an aperture of 4.5.

I hope you’ll like them πŸ™‚

The first photo I tried - one of my running shoes

The first photo I tried – one of my running shoes

Photo #2 - focusing on Emmett

Photo #2 – focusing on Emmett

Photo #3 - adding Cliffy into the picture

Photo #3 – adding Cliffy into the picture

Photo #4 - changing the focus to the back of the photo, now with Cliffy in focus

Photo #4 – changing the focus to the back of the photo, now with Cliffy in focus

Photo #5 - a random photo I took trying to use my housemates' dog as my subject

Photo #5 – a random photo I took trying to use my housemates’ dog as my subject

I’ll definitely be using this for more of my photos to come!

***** UPDATED*****

While going through all of the entries for the Weekly photo Challenge I came across one that had one simple tip for the Rule of Thirds. I picked up my camera and tried it out and BAM! On the first shot I had a perfect picture (not an exciting subject at all but wanted to share it anyway). Thanks for the tip Clicky Chick πŸ™‚

Changing the focus area :)

Changing the focus area πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Rule of Thirds

  1. I think you use rule of thirds and don’t even know it. Look at your sand dune photo as your background… πŸ˜‰
    I love that shot too… capturing the movement. We did the sand dunes this summer for the first time. It was so exciting. Dubai was one of my favourite places I’ve ever visited. Did you go there for work?

    Like

Have your say

