Easy, healthy egg muffins

I’ve made these a few times now and always thought that I’d posted about it – but when searching my blog the other day to give someone the recipe I realised that I actually hadn’t. So, it was the perfect excuse to make them again 🙂

It was so long ago that I don’t even have the recipe that I followed to link back to in order to give that person the credit that they deserve… sorry!

I spruced up my latest version of these that I have just made, and they are the ones that I’m going to share with you today… not just egg muffins, but bacon & egg muffins. YUM! And this idea was courtesy of a friend who posted a photo on Facebook, so, thanks for that!

The muffins are super easy to make – grab whatever ingredients you want to, chop up where necessary, crack open the eggs into a bowl, add the ingredients, whisk together, pour into a muffin pan, and bake at 200ºC for approximately 15 minutes. And Viola! Egg Muffins!

Fresh ingredients - onion, peppers, tomato

Fresh ingredients – onion, peppers, tomato

I normally use 6 eggs for 6 muffins, but the eggs I had just bought were a bit small so I had 3 large eggs and 4 small ones for 6 muffins.

For this particular version, I took a piece of bacon and wrapped it around the inside of the muffin pan, then poured the eggy-goodness in, then added a little blob of mozzarella cheese into each muffin and popped that into the oven!

Bacon bases

Bacon bases

Ready for the oven, with the mozzarella cheese thrown in

Ready for the oven, with the mozzarella cheese thrown in

The delicious-ness that is...

The delicious-ness that is…

YUM!

YUM!

Covering them to protect them from the cats while they cool down

Covering them to protect them from the cats while they cool down

Some alternate ingredient options could be mushrooms, sweet corn, bacon bits (instead of wrapping around the base), sun-dried tomato, probably fishy-things for those that way inclined… the list is endless!

Have fun, and enjoy 🙂

4 thoughts on “Easy, healthy egg muffins

Have your say

