Quinoa, mushroom and sweet potato salad

I got the inspiration to make this salad one afternoon when I was looking at a menu for something or the other and I saw a Quinoa, avo and sweet potato salad. However, I did not have any ripe avocado at home when I wanted to make the salad so I mixed things up a bit and made my own version of the salad.

Ingredients:

  • Quinoa (1 cup)
  • Sweet potato (1 large)
  • Capsicum (I used red and green)
  • Onion (1 small)
  • Mushrooms (half punnet)
  • Olive oil (enough to coat potato)
  • Herbs (to taste)
  • Cayenne pepper (to taste)

The salad on the menu mentioned nuts so feel free to mix things up and add in / take out ingredients as you wish 🙂

How I did it

Quinoa – I followed the directions on the box… boiled water, added in the quinoa, reduced heat to a simmer and let cook for 20 minutes.

Cooking Quinoa

 

Sweet potato – while the quinoa was getting done, I peeled the sweet potato, chopped it into small cubes, poured the oil, herbs and cayenne pepper into a bowl and then mixed the sweet potato cubes around in the oil until they were all covered in goodness. I then placed them onto a baking sheet and put in the oven (pre-heated to 200°C) and let them do their thing. At approximately 10 minutes I turned them all over, and then after the next 10 minutes I put the grill on for a few minutes to make them brown a bit and go a bit crispy on the outside 🙂

Coating the potato

 

Cooking the potato

 

Once the quinoa was done cooking, I let it stand for a few minutes as directed by the box.

During this time I fried up my mushrooms, onions and capsicum.

Veggies

 

By the time all the different bits and pieces were done, I poured everything into a large bowl, gave it a good mix, dished up a bowl and proceeded to gobble away!

Although a very easy meal, it is fairly lengthy to make and requires a bit of back and forth between the foods to get them all done at the same time, but boy oh boy was it yummy!!!!! And oh so very good for you 🙂

Finished result 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Quinoa, mushroom and sweet potato salad

Have your say

