KICKBOXING

At my previous company we were extremely spoiled by the Chairman in that he was a major fitness fanatic and strongly believed in “a healthy body is a healthy mind”. Therefore, he had a gym built on-site and encouraged staff to use it, during office hours! Part of this encouragement included the opportunity to attend Zumba, Pilates, Yoga and Kickboxing classes, also held during work hours (regular readers, you’ll remember some of the posts I did on exercise challenges and the like).

Unfortunately when I left this company at the end of April, it meant that all of those things left my life too – and I had to start making the time to fit a regular gym routine into my life. It took me a while but I am happy to say that I am very much back on that band wagon and am working out up to 5 days a week at the moment (including my runs on either 2 or 3 days of the week) ๐Ÿ™‚ Strong body and legs, here I come.

One of my favourite exercises at my previous company was taking part in the kickboxing classes that took place every 2 weeks. I loved what the exercise was starting to do to my body, and I loved being able to beat the shit out of the punching bag when I was having a rough day. So it goes without saying that the past 6 months of not having it in my life have made a difference in how I feel about my body, as well a noticeable difference in the strength of my legs, which affects my running (well, noticeable to me at least).

But, as I’ve said, I’m back on this band wagon of regular exercising and as of this week, that now includes kickboxing classes with the same instructor who taught us at my previous company!

My first time back was much easier than I thought it would be – I kept up quite well with the “seniors” in the class and felt that I still packed quite a punch. The next day, however, was a slightly different story! Stiff in most of my upper body, but thankfully my legs were not affected by the stiffness ๐Ÿ™‚

I cannot WAIT for the next session – I have scheduled in a session every 2 weeks ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Kickboxing (courtesy of Google search)

2 thoughts on “KICKBOXING

  1. I fully understand the release of pent up frustration, stress, anger or whatever you can unload on a heavy bag. I have one in my basement. I also participate in a mixed martial art self defense class and we get to hit focus mitts and air shields. My wife would very often picture her abusive ex husband on that shield or bag. I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog. Bob

    Like

Have your say

