My bucket list

the-bucket-list-2-1024I have never sat down and put any thought into what My Bucket List would be… and although I’ve seen the movie The Bucket List, I’ve just never felt inspired to do it…. But I’ve recently changed my mind and finally put together a bucket list of things that I would like to achieve (including some that I’ve done already that are totally bucket-list-worthy) while I am still able to. I’ll update this post as time goes on, ticking off each item as I do it, and more-than-likely adding to the list 🙂

In no specific order, I give you my bucket list – please feel free to share and use my ideas!

  1. See the (new) Seven Wonders of the world (as per this wikipedia list)
    1. Colosseum – done in 2002 when I travelled around Europe on a Contiki tour
    2. Great Wall of China
    3. Petra
    4. Chichen Itza
    5. Machu Picchu
    6. Taj Mahal
    7. Christ the Redeemer
    8. Great Pyramid of Giza (Honorary Status)
  2. Get my photo taken with a well-known celebrity (I’ve had a drink with a South African celebrity, Ross Learmonth, lead singer of Prime Circle ; I’ve hung out with Glenn Hodgson from The Parlotones; and I’m related to Brendan Jury of Urban Creep fame, but am looking for this to be a real-eel “Hollywood” celebrity 😉  )
  3. Go on a Russian cruise from St Petersburg to Moscow
  4. See the 7 Natural Wonders of the World
    1. Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights)
    2. Harbour of Rio de Janeiro
    3. Grand Canyondone in July 2015
    4. Great Barrier Reef
    5. Mount Everestdone in February 2015 (did a flight to see the mountain; see #37 for a more detailed item)
    6. Paricutin
    7. Victoria Fallsdone in July 2010
  5. Stand on a glacier – I completed this in 2012 when travelling to Germany for a for a friends wedding; we visited the Rhone Glacier in Switzerland. Here’s my blog post about it 🙂
  6. Go backstage at a concert
  7. Visit 50 countries – as of February 2017 I am sitting on 38
  8. (Re) learn how to do a handstand without my feet touching a wall (Started this in 2016 🙂 )
  9. Attend a masquerade ball
  10. Run 5km’s in under 25 minutes (my personal best is currently sitting at 25:49)
  11. Run a half marathon in under 2 hours (my personal best is currently 2:02:05)
  12. Watch turtles being born in Oman
  13. Have a white Christmas
  14. Attend Rugby 7’s in Hong Kong
  15. Learn to play guitar
  16. Go to Oktoberfest in Munich
  17. Visit Las Vegas and New York City – done in July 2015 with my sister
  18. Float in the the Dead Seacompleted August 2016
  19. Run an international half marathon (i.e. one that I have to travel out of UAE for, and other than the midnight sun run in Iceland) – one option that I’ve come across is the Disney Half Marathon (but not for 2015 – too much other travel already planned for 2015)
  20. Run the midnight sun run in Iceland (preferably with friends 🙂 )
  21. Get a tattoo (sorry mom) – done in July 2015
  22. Run a vertical marathon (Emirates Towers, Dubai, or elsewhere in the world) – done 3 October 2015, Hilton JBR
  23. Buy a brand new car – did this in August 2014; my zippy little Mazda 2 (and I paid cash for it!)
  24. Buy a house
  25. See the migration in the Serengeti, Tanzania/ Kenya
  26. Witness the Botswana great floods
  27. Fix my teeth (I have an overbite and a few of them are slightly skew 😦 ) October 2016 this is happening – check back in approximately 18 months 😉
  28. Have laser eye surgery to not have to wear contact lenses anymore
  29. Finish reading the Discworld series
  30. Make a pink zebra cake (this one’s been added in purely as something silly – I came across this recipe and thought it would be hilarious to do this!) Completed October 2015
  31. Reach 1000 blog followers
  32. Travel First Class
  33. Take part in something similar to “The Amazing Race”
  34. 5 (then maybe 10 😉 ) unassisted pull-ups
  35. White water rafting (completed in February 2015 in Nepal)
  36. Successfully complete a beer mile
  37. Hike to Everest Base Camp
  38. White water rafting in a 2-man canoe
  39. Visit all 7 continents (as of March 2015 I’ve done 5 = Africa, Australia, North America, Europe, Asia)
  40. Throw a dart into a spinning globe and travel to where it lands
  41. Stand on the International Date Line
  42. Stand on the Equator Line (thanks to Dailyphotofun for this idea!)

15 thoughts on “My bucket list

  1. Pingback: Week 7 – Mikumi National Park, Tanzania | mynuttydubai

  2. Pingback: Week 43 – The new me! | mynuttydubai

  3. Pingback: Week 34 – Salalah Half Marathon | mynuttydubai

  4. Pingback: Week 32 – Handstands! | mynuttydubai

  5. Reblogged this on mynuttydubai and commented:

    It’s been a year since I first published my bucket list online. Since then I’ve added a couple of things along the way, and I’m very happy to say that I’ve managed to cross off 7 items so far.
    Here’s the list again… feel free to use some of my ideas for your own bucket list!

    Like

  6. Pingback: # 42 – Zebra Cake | mynuttydubai

  7. Pingback: # 40 – Hilton Stair Race | mynuttydubai

  8. Pingback: # 28 – Grand, Grand Canyon | mynuttydubai

  9. Pingback: # 27 – TATTOO | mynuttydubai

  10. Pingback: Adventure in Nepal | mynuttydubai

  11. Pingback: 2015 challenge(s) | mynuttydubai

  12. Some pretty challenging things to do here – I’m referring to the running/marathon ones!

    Being the World’s laziest person (I’m sure I’m allergic to exercise and particularly running) and champion procrastinator, my Bucket List – if I ever get around to doing one – will not include anything referring to marathons 😉 (although “Get fit” *should* be at the top of my list).

    Good luck with meeting all your goals. I do hope you get to see the Northern Lights – that’s something I would like to do to.

    Like

    • Yes, running can be challenging to people who have never tried it… but it’s completely addictive – once you’ve tried and seen your times get just a little better, or you run just that little bit further, you want to keep going.
      Well, that’s what happened to me anyway 😉

      I hope you do get around to doing a bucket list… you’ll have to add on seeing the northern lights too!

      Like

  13. That’s a superb list! And I love the idea of actually committing to ‘paper’, I am now thinking of doing likewise!
    As I grow older I realise more than ever how precious time is, and how it is in such short supply.
    My list will feature travel prominently too, and I loved the variety in your list.

    I wish you well in ticking off as many, if not all, of your listed goals, and I’m going to catch up on your other posts related to ones already achieved now.
    Well done again, and good luck!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much!
      You can be sure I’ll continue to blog about each of the activities as I cross them off the list so I hope you’ll enjoy reading about them.
      I look forward to seeing yours when you “commit it to paper” 🙂

      Like

Have your say

