Easy, 15-minute (ish) beef stroganoff

I’m sitting here trying to kill 2 hours of my time without succumbing to watching yet another episode of Glee (because yes I’m addicted – a bit of a late starter *blush*) while I wait for my stew to cook. That’s right. Stew 🙂 I’m giving this one a try – I’ll post the finished product in a few days once I’ve tasted it (please don’t let it flop!)

But, while I’m waiting for the stew to cook I thought I’d post about a meal that I cooked for myself a few weeks ago which was pretty delish, and super easy… 15-minute (ish) beef stroganoff. Yum!

I followed a recipe that I found on the interweb, as usual. Their recipe calls for egg noodles, but I chose to have mine with rice instead.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rice
  • Half punnet fresh mushrooms
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 500g lean beef (I used strips)
  • 4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper to taste

I followed the directions exactly as told in the recipe, and here are a few photos I took along the way:

Frying up the mushrooms and onion

Frying up the mushrooms and onion

I then added in green pepper for a bit of colour - not in their recipe

I then added in green pepper for a bit of colour – not in their recipe

Adding the sour cream to the mixture after the beef is browned

Adding the sour cream to the mixture after the beef is browned

The finished product :)

The finished product 🙂

Again, my finished product photo is not “all that” but the meal was much better than the photo, promise!

So if you’re looking for an easy meal that won’t take too much time, nor require too many ingredients then I definitely suggest giving this one a try! I’m going to have it with egg noodles next time 🙂

Have your say

