Playing with my food

Now that’s something that most people don’t do very often.

But, I’m not most people.

And, I don’t actually mean that I’m playing with my food… I do, however, mean that I am going to be playing around with food(s) that work, and more than likely some that don’t, on my long runs.

As I run more, I want to run more, and longer, and faster. I still doubt I’ll ever want to run a marathon (although “they” say that it’s every runners goal). I’m more than happy with my half-marathon, and the training that comes with it, thanks!

But as each year passes and I run half-marathon after half-marathon, I obviously want to do better and better at each one. And the only way to do this is to run more. And more often. And longer.

So, I have recently been reading a lot of running blogs, websites, etc. all offering advice on what to eat, what not to eat, what to wear, what not to wear etc. When I started running I didn’t have anyone to help me and tell me what to do or how to do this all. I just went out there and I ran. So I’m now spending loads of time reading up about all aspects of running and one of the biggest topics that I seem to come across at the moment is fuelling for, and during long runs.

I’ve not experimented much with fuelling. I know that my pre-race dinner works as spaghetti bolognese, and pre-race breakfast is a boiled egg with mayonnaise on toast. I’ll glug down a gu at the start line, and then I carry them with me, along with a couple of gu chews for additional fuel along the way. I know this because it’s what I tried the first time (tried it for all the training leading up to the race), and it worked.

But there are soooo many other options out there – options that don’t taste awful like most gu’s do (my favourite flavour is the strawberry banana), and won’t get your hands all sticky! So, before my actual “training” for the RAK half marathon (in February) starts, I plan on trying out a bunch of different options on my long runs to try and mix things up a bit.

Here’s what I’m going to try:

1) Peanut butter M & M’s, or Reese’s peanut butter choc chips

reeces-mms

2) Dates

dates

3) Raisins

sunmaid

4) Bovril (marmite) sandwiches, cut into bite size pieces and carried in a fuel pack (I read loads of people using peanut butter sandwiches but I don’t like the thought of having to chew and chew and chew on peanut butter while running)

marmite bovril

5) Sticking to my gu routine only

gu

So, runners, what do you use for fuelling on long runs? Any options you can share with me to maybe try out?

 

3 thoughts on “Playing with my food

  1. Pingback: Happy National Day – 9km | mynuttydubai

Have your say

