Running the Dubai Autodrome

That’s exactly what I did tonight – I ran around the track at Dubai Autodrome 🙂

A while back I came across an advert for Revolution Nights at Dubai Autodrome… they open up the track for runners, walkers and cyclists as a safe place to train, free entry and some company (for those who train on their own, like me 😉 )

At the time it was way too hot to consider but then I received an email from Premieronline advising that I could collect the Championchip that I’d ordered from one of these free nights at Dubai Autodrome, and I knew that I had to forego the heat and get my butt out there and run! Oh, and collect my chip too.

I arrived there at about 6pm and was surrounded by cyclists – I thought for a second that I was in the “cyclists only” section… but I kept going as nobody was telling me off. I signed in, picked up my chip and headed out to the track (amongst a sea of approximately 50-70 cyclists), and finally came across ONE runner.

As I set off on the track I ended up seeing about 4 runners (including me)… I tell you, it is NOT fun running next to a bunch of cyclists! I kept thinking that I need to be keeping up with them, and that’s just near impossible! And downright silly. Luckily by the end of the run there was a whole lot more runners out there 🙂

The track is fantastic for running – yes it’s just a normal track, tarred like a normal road, but it has great twists and turns, and a bunch of inclines! I had set no goal for myself for this run except to do 5km’s, which is two laps of the track. And aside from trying to keep up with the cyclists I had a great run! And boy was I happy to finish in my best 5km time of the summer… I definitely think I’m getting back on track!

I definitely recommend you getting out there and giving it a try too – especially if you’re a runner; let’s get some more of us out there!! 🙂 🙂

     

     

 

 

Have your say

