One foot in front of the other…

Well, I certainly cannot say that it’s getting any easier (yet) judging by my times – average times – but my distances are getting longer, and in this 37 °C heat I definitely count that as improving!

When I left work this evening, the sky looked like this:

Sandstorm a-coming!

Sandstorm a-coming!

But I was not going to let that stop me from doing my run tonight!

So, after dinner (a simple yet oh-so-good-for-you egg on toast), I laced up my shoes and off I went – only to be pleasantly surprised that the weather had cleared completely, and had even left behind a small breeze to help cool things off a bit. Thanks!

The run went well – once again keeping it very slow (my silly endomondo is acting up and the voices inside my head are not working… we’re asking the all-knowing if there is anything I can do to fix this annoying bug.) Anyway, because I had no way to monitor my time or distance, I ran a route that I knew would give me approximately 8 km’s. And I took it easy.

The 6th and 7th km’s were a bit tough and I had to stop and give myself a wee rest during both, but overall I think it was a consistent run, and I’m glad to see that although my time is not getting hugely better, it is keeping consistent, and my distances are getting longer. Bring on cooler weather for better results! And my first race on 31st October (unless my work signs up for a triathlon on 18th October in which I’ll be running 5km’s!!)

My last few runs have looked like this:

16 June – 7.54 km’s in 43:20; average pace of 5:45/km

2 July – 5.55 km’s in 37:33; average pace of 6:46/km

7 August – 6.04 km’s in 43:24; average pace of 7:11/km

13 August – 5.32 km’s in 36:00; average pace of 6:46/km

17 August – 7.77 km’s in 53:54; average pace of 6:56/km

Running season – I’m ready for you!

     

4 thoughts on “One foot in front of the other…

    • Yup, it’s pretty tough! I try lie to myself sometimes and say “Oh it’s not that bad, there’s a breeze” or what have you, but as soon as you’re out there, doing 5km’s or so you feel that heat, even at night!

      Like

    • Please do! I’m always in a light blue cap (even at night) so I’m easy to spot 😉
      I run mostly along the marina… when the temps drop a bit more I’ll start running at either Al Barsha or Safa parks on my way home from work

      Like

Have your say

