Whew is it hot out there!

Well I did it – got that first run in after a 2 month hiatus (that’s what I’m calling my lack of running πŸ˜‰ )

But boy oh boy was it TOUGH.

Don’t get me wrong, for the first time in a long time I actually enjoyed every minute of the run; I didn’t face that dreaded “wall”, and I felt fantastic at the end of it (ok, fantastic that I’d done it, not physically fantastic πŸ˜‰ )

I knew it was going to be a tough run because although the temperatures are dropping slightly, it’s still over 30ΒΊC at 6am, and the humidity is sitting around 50%. Nasty! So, I laced up my shoes with one two goals in mind 1) No pressure to keep any sort of pace, 2) run 6km’s.

I successfully completed goal 1. Goal 2 on the other hand was a bit of a fail… but it was purely due to my body temperature getting so high that I honestly thought my head was going to explode. There was an occasion (or 2) where I actually saw little spots so I had to stop running and just walk a bit. The first half of the run was exactly as I’d hoped it would be – slow and uneventful, and running the whole way. At about 3.5km’s I had to take a little walk break, and unfortunately after that it was tough to keep running but I did my best with the rest of the 6km’s being made up with walking and running… and I am happy that I finally made it out there – heat and all! Clearly my body is not built for this type of heat 😦

But I am not going to let it stop me! I’ll keep doing these little runs, at slow pace until I either get used to it, or the temperatures really do start dropping (and they will!)

Overall I am calling this run a win and I’m looking forward to what this season will bring me – maybe a few new PB’s!!!

Have your say

