Chicken, bacon and mushroom risotto

The dish I did entirely on my own – no recipe whatsoever!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

That’s right… I cooked something other than a throw-everything-from-the-fridge-in pasta on my own… and it was delicious! I just need to remember to take photos when I’m doing these things so that I can show them off to you. But for today, Google pics will have to suffice, sorry!

This was a planned and thought out meal – the ingredients were bought specifically to make this dish,  after I came up with the idea of what I wanted.

Ingredients:

  • Approximately 250 g risotto
  • 4 rashers bacon
  • 1/2 punnet of mushrooms
  • 2 chicken breasts, boneless
  • 750 ml vegetable stock
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 50 g butter
  • 1 glass white wine
  • Black pepper to taste

mushrooms     onion

chicken     bacon

wine

Method:

  1. Cut up all ingredients as required
  2. Sauté onion in butter in a large wok
  3. Add risotto and stir
  4. Add wine and stir until evaporated, then reduce to a simmer
  5. Add one ladel of veg stock at a time, stirring until evaporated each time. Do this for approximately 19 minutes or until rice is creamy, but still hard on the inside
  6. During this time fry up the mushrooms, bacon and chicken
  7. Once the rice is done, add all ingredients, mix, cover and let simmer for approximately 2 minutes
  8. ENJOY!

This makes about 3 dishes, depending on how hungry you, and anyone eating with you, are 😉

I was smart enough to remember to get a photo of my finished product…

risotto

Have your say

