Tuesday’s training trials

And I’m going on holiday.

But before heading off I wanted to get in a decent run this evening so I thought that I’d go for a short run (6km’s) but on my 5th kilometer I would try hit under, or as close as possible to, 5 minutes for the kilometer.

Well, everything was going better than planned – my first 3 km’s were negative splits but I was definitely starting to feel the heat…

Hot, hot, hot

Hot, hot, hot

I decided on the 4th km to drop back a bit and not hit another negative split, and rather save my energy for the 5th km as planned. As soon as I heard the little voice tell me that I’d hit 4km’s I picked up the pace drastically… but was only able to hold it for about 200 meters 😦 I backed off a little bit and then picked up again, doing this on and off until I saw where my 5km mark was and I pushed as hard as I could.

Unfortunately I didn’t get as close to 5 minutes as I’d liked to have but I absolutely have to blame the heat – it is way too hot to be doing speed training now.

I took it slow for the last km, letting my heart rate and body temperature drop back down a little bit and enjoyed falling flat onto the carpet in my air-conditioned apartment once I got home.

But, even though it was tough and I could feel my lungs burning, I loved that run! I would love to have come in much closer to 5 minutes (or under!) but I’m not going to beat myself up about it. It’s way too hot to do that. I’ll just have to enjoy some regular endurance runs for the rest of summer.

Oh yes, and before I forget – I’m off for a week’s holiday to the wonderful country of pasta, pizza and wine… Italy! I’ll be attending a friends wedding there and am not likely to be online much so watch this space for the update when I’m back.

Until then, ciao readers 🙂

4 thoughts on “Tuesday’s training trials

  1. Have fun in Italy! Well I’m sure you will.
    Nice run, and I’m sure next time you won’t go as fast when starting your fast KM (as to not burn out after 200 meters), that’s the good thing about runs that don’t go as planned, you can always do it better next time.

    Like

Have your say

