Exercise freak

I’m by no means a religious person so lent has never been part of my vocabulary. However, a few days into what would be lent for everyone else, I decided that instead of giving something up, I would add something in. Exercise.

Yes, I already do a fair amount of exercise with my running, kickboxing, pilates, gym etc. and am reasonably fit… but this challenge was to exercise every day for 40 days. I put myself to the test.

My exercise routine each day was quite simple – get at least 15-20 minutes of exercise each and every single day for 40 in a row. That could be a simple walk to the mall, a run, ab work at home, etc., etc., etc. Of course it helped that I also started the office fitness challenge as this motivated me a little more, especially over weekends, to earn my team some points.

And boy was I pleased with how easy it actually was… even on weekends when I had had a big night the night before; going for a walk really helped clear the head, got me the exercise I needed and got me the points!

Day 32 saw a curve-ball thrown my way when I slept funny and messed my neck up, but I did not let it stop me… I made sure that I was doing something by walking up stairs instead of lifts / escalators, and doing the office exercises that are part of the office challenge.

But, I hate to say that I failed at my 40 days 😥

I completed Day 37, but then Day 38 and Day 39 I had to travel for work and attend full day meetings that required a huge amount of admin work pre- and post-meeting and therefore ate into all of my waking hours (excuses, excuses I hear you scream… but it’s truly tough!)

However, I finished off the intended 40 days with a little run around the area where we work in Kurdistan 🙂

 

And here’s my workout schedule 🙂

40-day schedule

40-day schedule

Have your say

