Learning to do negative splits

I read a post the other day about negative splits and it piqued my interest… I’ve only very recently been running with the little voices in my head telling me how fast (or slow) I’m going, so having split times has never been a focus of mine. However, since running with my little “coach”, I’ve become a little addicted to it and I pay careful attention to my times. I’m pretty hopeless at staying at a consistent pace, but it does help me with pacing myself throughout a race.

That’s why, when I read this post about negative splits I had to go out there and try it myself.

I didn’t do an excellent job, but as a first time trying to do it, I’m relatively happy with my results:

 

Negative splits

Negative splits

 

2 thoughts on “Learning to do negative splits

  1. Glad you found my post useful.
    You did a great job with your splits, even if you got a bit too fast on the 2nd KM. When I’m at the beginning of a run I always visualize how long I have left, thinking I still have another 5-10-15 KM to go helps me keep the pace slower and save strength for later on.

    Like

Have your say

