My strange knee

For those who have been reading my blog for some time now, you’ll recall that I had major knee issues in 2011/2012 that stopped me from running altogether. I went to some painful but extremely beneficial physiotherapy and a few months down the line I was up and (literally) running again. And I haven’t looked back since.

Until this morning’s run.

My physio told me that I am one of a very few people who CANNOT run on a treadmill because my knee does not like the resistance. And this morning my knee told me that it does not like soft(er) surfaces at all… give me hardcore pavement, bricks, tar, cement and my knee is happy. But don’t give me grass, sand, treadmills or anything that involves uneven terrain!

On my run today I chose a slightly new route that I’ve only run once before (and had no issues) but I knew that it was 12km’s so off I went. The route is mostly pavement and road, but there are some parts which are sand (from construction and therefore very uneven) and grass (slopes!). And when I got to the grassy slope parts my knee started giving me the same hassles that it gave me years ago…. I was not happy 😦

So I tried to run a bit hard through the pain to get off the grass and lo and behold… a few meters back on the pavement and my knee was good as gold. Huh?!

I’m hoping this is not a sign of things to come, so I will be staying off grass and sand (and uneven) runs for now – good thing I decided to not enter the Wadi Bih run –  and just keep at my road running, since it does me well.

RAK half marathon in 15 days!

30 Jan 2014 – 12km’s

Have your say

