Pork me!

I haven’t done a cooking post in a little while now even though I’ve sort of been coming up with the odd throw-everything-in-make-a-pasta meal, and I have to say that they’ve been fairly delicious 😛 but not very exciting to blog about.

So, the other night (sorry, this post is a bit delayed) I decided to try another recipe dinner – a pork risotto casserole.

I’d had this recipe in mind for a while so I already had all the ingredients at home and so on the chosen night I got down to cooking again!

pork

It’s a really simple recipe and I followed it practically word for word (because I’m still a bit nervous to branch out completely), boiling my veg, cooking my pork sausages etc., and once everything was ready I threw them all in the casserole dish and in the oven and left it for the stipulated 25 minutes.

20-odd minutes in and it wasn’t looking like the risotto was cooking enough so I thought I’d just let the thing keep cooking away. I was feeling nervous about this by now, but I eventually took it out the oven after a total of about 40 minutes, let it sit for a few minutes and then dished up.

And you know what?! It turned out very tasty!! Ok, yes, it could do with a little more oomph, but it certainly wasn’t terrible. There are a few things that I’ll do differently next time, but I’m certainly not putting this one down as a failure!

My few suggestions for next time:

  • Brown the sausages more before putting them in the casserole dish
  • Cut the sausages up into smaller pieces before putting into the dish
  • Add more risotto into the dish
  • Use fresh veggies (yes, I was lazy and used a bag of “Winter veggies” for this)

Here it is straight out of the oven (I only realised when uploading the photo that it’s blurry; sorry!)

Pork Risotto Casserole

Pork Risotto Casserole

** recipe found on http://www.studentrecipes.com

Have your say

