I did it – 40°C!!!

OK, OK – I lied to get your attention.

But, now that I have it, the truth is not far off…

I’ve just completed a 40 minute run, in 39°C weather – outside. And while I’m definitely not the first, nor will I be the last person to run at these temperatures, it is my first time, and it’s an accomplishment in itself. Plus there’s no denying that running in these temperatures is hard work. Personally, when summer arrives, I’m the first one to pack away my shoes and stay in the gym (never the treadmill, though), but tonight, while sitting on my couch (once again) watching TV, I had this urge to get out there and run.

Just finished!!

Just finished!!

And so I did. And I loved every second of it. 6.2km’s.

Since it’s my first (accomplished*) run in this heat, I don’t have much advice for you, other than to listen to your body. I knew I was going to have a hard time with the heat so I slowed right down, my fastest km being only 5.55 minutes and my average being 6.38. And I drank a lot more water than I normally do on any run. And I discovered that a capful of water poured over the crown of your head is a great way to cool your body temperature down! And I just kept on running.

This will not be my last high-temperature run, I can assure you! 40°C, you won’t keep me indoors anymore (at least not when the sun is gone :wink:)

* The last time I can recall being in a high-temperature run was in May 2012 – I was doing a 8km race which I am sad to say that I did not even finish as I was just too hot and was not prepared for the temperatures. It honestly felt like my head was going to explode and so I had to walk the last 3 or so km’s, meaning that I crossed the finish line after the allotted 1 hour finish.

6 thoughts on “I did it – 40°C!!!

  1. I used to actually enjoy my short runs in the summer – generally in the evenings. There were less people out and about and I had such a sense of achievement when I finished. But getting back into the a/c was so welcome. I’ll be back to that soon enough…

    Like

  2. Yup – these temperatures are a killer… out here in the desert the temperatures reach around 50C during the day, plus the humidity in there which often sits around 70 – 90%. Yuck!
    Thanks for the visit 🙂

    Like

  3. Beat that heat! Way to overcome it. Just run smart and hydrate. Here in the States where I live in the south, Summer is quite oppressive, you just have to plan for it. Nice run!

    Like

Have your say

